POLL: Roy Hodgson names England squad for Fifa World Cup 2014 in Brazil

Southampton's Adam Lallana

Southampton's Adam Lallana

PA Wire/Press Association Images

England boss Roy Hodgson has named his 23-man squad for this summer's World Cup in Brazil, which begins next month.

Included in Hodgson’s squad are Southampton trio Ricky Lambert, Adam Lallana and Luke Shaw.

Ashley Cole has already announced his international retirement having been told he was not going to make the cut, while Manchester United midfielder Michael Carrick also misses out.

The Three Lions’ first Group D game will be against Italy, in Manaus, on June 14 (11pm), before they take on Uruguay five days later, in Sao Paolo (8pm).

England’s final group game is against Costa Rica, on June 24, in Belo Horizonte (5pm).

A quarter of the squad have less than five caps.

Goalkeepers: Hart (Man City), Foster (WBA), Forster (Celtic)

Defenders: Johnson (Liverpool), Baines (Everton), Shaw (Southampton), Jagielka (Everton), Cahill (Chelsea), Jones (Manchester United), Smalling (Manchester United)

Midfielders: Gerrard (Liverpool), Lampard (Chelsea), Lallana (Southampton), Barkley (Everton), Sterling (Liverpool), Wilshere (Arsenal), Henderson (Liverpool), Milner (Manchester City), Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal)

Attackers: Rooney (Manchester United), Sturridge (Liverpool), Welbeck (Manchester United), Lambert (Southampton)

Back-up: Ruddy (Norwich), Flanagan (Liverpool), Stones (Everton), Carrick (Manchester United), Cleverley (Manchester United), Carroll (West Ham), Defoe (Toronto)

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Green Un

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists