Thurlow Nunn round-up: Mildenhall win Premier, three promoted from First Division

PUBLISHED: 18:52 17 April 2017 | UPDATED: 18:52 17 April 2017

Leading scorer Craig Jennings opens the scoring for Felixstowe

Leading scorer Craig Jennings opens the scoring for Felixstowe


Mildenhall Town were crowned champions of the Thurlow Nunn Premier League today, with a 2-0 win at Thetford Town.

Dean Greygoose’s men have been in superb form all season, and kicked off in Norfolk knowing that a point would be enough to see them win the league.

But they ended up with all three, courtesy of strikes from Dan Brown and Chris Bacon.

The result ended any faint hopes second-place Felixstowe & Walton United had of ending the season top of the league despite a comfortable 3-0 victory over their nearest neighbours, Ipswich Wanderers.

With Newmarket also winning, the battle for the runners up spot continues into the final week of the season with just a point separating second from third.

Nick Ingram finishes from close range to double the score for Fellixstowe Nick Ingram finishes from close range to double the score for Fellixstowe

A clever finish from Craig Jennings, curling the ball into the top corner of Foster’s net from the angle of the penalty area, set the visitors on the way in the 19th minute and Nick Ingram doubled the lead five minutes later, stabbing the loose ball past Foster after the ‘keeper had parried the initial shot.

Wanderers had a couple of off-target efforts before the break with Kris Rose going closest with a far post header from Jack Servery’s free kick but the visitors always looked in control.

Any doubt about the result was put to rest on the hour when Matthews jinxed his way into a packed Wanderers area before getting in a shot that took a couple of defections before beating Foster.

The one big chance for the home side came in the 70th minute when Thrower picked out Rose at the far post but Crump produced a strong one handed save to ensure his side kept a clean sheet.

Promotions were also decided in the Thurlow Nunn First Division, with Stowmarket Town, Haverhill Borough and Coggeshall all confirming their steps up the ladder.

Coggeshall saw off Wisbech St Mary 4-0, prompting joyous tweets from part-time player and pop star Olly Murs, while Stowmarket beat Debenham 2-0 to stay top of the league.

Haverhill Borough, meanwhile, confirmed promotion in style - beating Leiston Reserves 13-0!


Welcome , please leave your message below.

Optional - JPG files only
Optional - MP3 files only
Optional - 3GP, AVI, MOV, MPG or WMV files

Please log in to leave a comment and share your views with other Green Un visitors.

We enable people to post comments with the aim of encouraging open debate.

Only people who register and sign up to our terms and conditions can post comments. These terms and conditions explain our house rules and legal guidelines.

Comments are not edited by Green Un staff prior to publication but may be automatically filtered.

If you have a complaint about a comment please contact us by clicking on the Report This Comment button next to the comment.

Not a member yet?

Register to create your own unique Green Un account for free.

Signing up is free, quick and easy and offers you the chance to add comments, personalise the site with local information picked just for you, and more.

Sign up now

Newsletter Sign Up

Green Un tri-weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Most read

Show Job Lists

Championship League table

League One table

Local business directory

Our trusted business finder

Property search

e.g. Oxford or NW3
Powered by Zoopla
MyDate24 MyPhotos24