Ipswich Witches

One of the most famous clubs in British speedway, the Witches were founded in 1950 and, after not racing for a few years in the 60's were one of the most successful sides of the 1970s and into the '80s, where they won the Division One and KO Cup double on two occasions under the guidance of promoter John Berry.


Nickname: Witches

Club Colours: Black, white and blue

Track Size: 285 metres

Track Record: 56.6 Ben Barker June 20 2013

Facilities: Fast food dining areas and bars with seating overlooking track

Founded: 1951

Contact details

Track Address:

Foxhall Stadium,
Foxhall Road,

View map

Telephone: 01473 623640

Website: www.ipswichwitches.co

Previous top riders

  • John Louis
  • Billy Sanders
  • Tony Davey
  • Dennis Sigalos
  • John Cook
  • Jeremy Doncaster
  • Scott Nicholls
  • Hans Andersen
  • Tomasz Gollob
  • Tony Rickardsson
  • Chris Louis


John Louis

Ipswich Witches news

Friday, October 2, 2015

Ipswich’s season ended in with a whimper last night as the Witches finished third in the Premier League Fours event at Redcar.

Thursday, September 24, 2015
Winner Danny King is flanked by second placed Nico Covatti (left) and third placed Stefan Nielsen on the rostrum of the 16 Lap Classic meeting at Foxhall Stadium, Ipswich, Suffolk, UK on 24 September 2015.      
Picture: Steve Waller       

Ipswich Witches skipper Danny King was crowned the 2015 16-Lap Classic winner after an exciting meeting at Foxhall Stadium, with team-mate Nico Covatti second.

Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Witches Director of Speedway Chris Louis with Danny King

Ipswich Witches director of speedway Chris Louis has admitted to being ‘hugely disappointed’ by his side’s inability to make the Premier League play-offs.

Monday, September 14, 2015
There will be no play-off speedway for Ipswich Witches this season

Ipswich Witches play-off hopes are over after Plymouth Devils secured all four points at Rye House on Saturday night.


  • Division One champions 1975, 76, 84, 98
  • Division KO Cup winners: 1976, 78, 81, 84 and 98
  • Division Two Cup winners: 1970, 71
  • Fours winners 1991,2011
  • Pairs winners 1976, 77
  • Craven Shield Winners 1998


Peter Simmons